Perky & Friends

The place for random penguin musings and the home of the Linkin Park Penguin

‘En Garde’: A Duel (Film Review) with Dr Red

on September 27, 2012

For those of you who do not know my twitter pal Dr Red Bear and I decided to do a joint review of a penguin and a bear film.  We decided on (any) Care Bears for the bear film and Madagascar 2 for the penguin film.  Here are my reviews and a link to Dr Red’s can be found here

Care Bears

First, I was a bit reluctant to watch Care Bears, but I was persuaded by my twitter pals that I should.  When I got the DVD home either the lady human or Pebbles hid it from me (honest :D).  But then I felt guilty cos Dr Red had bought Madagascar 2 especially for this review so I went off in search for the Bears who Care and started to watch them.

It looked pretty much the same as other DVD’s because it was round and in a box.  Then lady human told me I had to put it in the DVD player….so I watched it properly and this is the review.

I decided to watch the The Giving Festival from the 2 disc pack because it was about a festival the bears organised and decided this sounded like something my bear pals would do.  When organising their festival there is a bad storm and the bears have to set out on a mission to find who is responsible for the storm and see where their princess special guest is because she is late.

This is what it says on the box, but in truth the princess part isn’t that foregrounded in the film and the focus is on the bears finding the cause of the storm and their meeting with the bear responsible (Grizzle).

Like most film plots they succeed in overcoming  the bad guy at the beginning of the film, and then it moves on to a different part of the story where they face more problems.  (I particularly liked the cool looking bear theme park in the clouds that was shown at this point – Woo Woo World).  Eventually a different bad bear comes into it – he’s the one that has kidnapped the said princess  and with their Care Bear magic powers they manage to overcome this bad guy and everyone lives happily ever after (there’s a surprise).

Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa

picture for illustrative purposes only 😀

I have seen Madagascar 2 several times and it is one of my all time favourites.  It’s not quite Toy Story, but it’s close.  And I especially love it because basically it has flying penguins.  Skipper (he’s a hero of mine you know) and the gang prove that when penguins put their mind to it they really can achieve anything – even though admittedly they do crash:

Skipper:  This is your captain speaking. I have good news and bad news. The good news is that we will be landing immediately [everyone claps] The bad news is, we’re crash landing.  

The film is a sequel to the first film where the animals from Central Park zoo got stranded on Madagascar.  In this film we see them trying to return to the zoo (via the penguin plane), but they crash land in a reserve in Africa.  The main story in the film is that Alex is reunited with his parents.  He has to prove himself as a ‘real lion’ (and not a ‘chocolate lion’) because basically he has become a little bit of a wimp having had all the comforts of captivity (now that’s a phrase that might start a few debates isn’t it?).  The main plot therefore focuses on this, but my favourite parts of the film are as follows:

I like the penguins, who repair the crashed plane and carjack several jeeps leaving tourists stranded in the jungle.  This leads us to a ninja nana character who makes me giggle, but who has frightened me to go close to any old ladies with handbags.

I also like watching and listening to King Julien, who in this film suggests the animals offer a sacrifice to the volcano to appease the water gods.  He also has one of the best lines in the film because as the plane is crashing he says:

‘Raise your arms, Maurice! It’s more fun when you raise your arms up like this, ah ha ha ha!’

Conclusion

I’m sorry to say for bear kind (but think it’s a compliment to my bear friends), apart from being caring they don’t seem anything like the bears I know.  For one, in my opinion my bear friends can sing better!  Plus the narrative structure of the film was a bit disjointed for my penguin liking. Therefore, and not surprisingly, Care Bears wasn’t my favourite film out of the two.  Frankly anything with penguins is going to score 10 out of 10 and just remember ‘cute and cuddly boys cute and cuddly’.

One response to “‘En Garde’: A Duel (Film Review) with Dr Red

Leave a Reply

